Table of Contents


After reviewing these questions, if you were unable to find a solution and/or are still experiencing issues, please contact us at support@onecloud.io. We are here to assist.


Why do read-only users see options to execute and edit Chains?

One of the things that makes OneCloud such a powerful tool is a user's ability to securely share what they've created with other trusted users. While features of the platform may be visible, restrictions may be put in place to prevent other users from making unwanted changes. Thus, read-only users may see options to execute and edit Chains, because there are features to review, but they won't actually be able to perform certain functions within said Chain(s).

An important thing to know is that OneCloud is context-sensitive based upon the location a user is within the product. Here are a few examples:

False Button

False buttons appear to have options enabled, but do not. False buttons enable users to explore the configuration of Chains and Commands without making alterations. In the image below, the user sees the published Chain within the Execute view. However, the Execute button isn't enabled and does not allow for editing. The Execute view is available for a read-only user. The Execute function is not.

Muted Button

Muted buttons are disabled options and do not have configurations behind them to explore. The image below shows a user in the Chain Studio that clicked the "Execute" button (as above) to visit the area where they can monitor the execution of Chains. The "Run Chain" button triggers an action and does not possess configuration settings as false buttons do. Since this user does not have Execute Privileges, the "Run Chain" button is muted.

No Access Button

Some options are removed altogether for read-only users. In the image below, a user had opened a Map Headers Command from within the Chain Studio. They were able to click the Command icon, see the pencil icon (false button), and click on it to view configurations or make edits. While they are able to see the Command's configurations, they cannot actually make any changes. Some fields are restricted (the Connection) from editing and some buttons (Save) have been removed.

In summary, read-only users see options to make edits because sharing is a powerful feature OneCloud offers. OneCloud protects its users by offering various access settings and restricting functionalities within said settings. While these options are visible, they are also inoperable.

If you would like further clarification, please contact us at support@onecloud.io.

Did this answer your question?