Like Pipelines, there may be reasons why a Mapping Group is no longer needed. When a Mapping Group is no longer needed, users may archive or delete them. Archiving a Mapping Group retains it as a read-only state, while restricting it from executing. Archiving a Mapping Group can be useful to support audit requests. Deleting a Mapping Group removes it and its version history from Data Prep entirely.

Archiving a Mapping Group

Archiving is Mapping Group is very easy.

  • Navigate to Mapping Groups from the Data Prep navigation menu.

  • Be sure the Active tab of the Mapping Groups list is selected.

  • Click the Archive icon on the Mapping Group row.

  • The Mapping Group is moved to the Archived tab of the Mapping Groups list.

Alternatively, a Mapping Group can be archived by opening the Mapping Group, clicking the vertical ellipse in the upper right corner, and selecting "Archive".

Restoring a Mapping Group

An archived Mapping Group can be restored to active status. To restore an archived Mapping Group:

  • Navigate to Mapping Groups from the Data Prep navigation menu.

  • Select the Archived Mapping Groups tab.

  • Click the Restore icon on the Mapping Group name.

  • The restored Mapping Group is now available on the Active Mapping Groups tab.

Deleting a Mapping Group

⚠️ There is no way to restore a Mapping Group that has been deleted. Prior to deleting a Mapping Group, download a copy of the Mapping Group as a backup.

Deleting a Mapping Group is a multi-step, multi-confirmation process. To delete a Mapping Group:

  • Archive the Mapping Group per the steps above.

  • Navigate to the Archived Mapping Groups tab.

  • Click the "Delete" icon.

  • Type the required text to confirm the deletion.

  • Click the "Delete" button.


📚 Related Topics from this Section:

Mapping Groups

Pipelines (Functional Transformations)

Using Mapping Groups in Pipelines


Did this answer your question?