The mapping rules within a mapping group can be modified at any time.

Create Mapping Rules

To create a new mapping rule:

  • Click the Add button at the top of the Rules pane.

  • Select the mapping type.

  • A new mapping rule is added to the rules grid.

  • The "From" and "To" fields must be specified.

The Position field is derived automatically, but can be updated to redefine the order in which Mapping Rules are applied.

To update the Position value, simply enter the updated numeric value. The Position value of all existing rules will be automatically updated based on the updated Position value specified.

Optional Fields

This optional information can be useful to document the mapping rule:

  • The Conditions field is used to create Conditional Mapping.

  • The Name and Description fields can be used to provide a name of the mapping rule, as well as a description of the purpose of the rule.

  • The name of the rule can also be used for filtering purposes if needed.

  • Each of these fields can also be left blank.

Editing Mapping Rules

A mapping rule can be modified at any time. Any of the fields of a mapping rule including the "Type" can be changed. When updating the "Type" for a mapping rule, be sure to review the "From" and "To" values to ensure that they are still applicable to the updated rule type.

Deleting Mapping Rules

Mapping rules can be deleted at any time. To delete mapping rules:

  • Select the checkbox to the left of the mapping rules to be deleted.

  • Multiple rules can be deleted at the same time by checking multiple checkboxes.

  • The Remove button will activate.

  • Click Remove to delete.

⚠️ There is no confirmation prompt when deleting mapping rules. If a mapping rule is inadvertently deleted, navigate off of the Mapping Group without saving. Upon returning to the Mapping Group, the deleted rule(s) will still exist. This action will also discard any unsaved changes that were made to the Mapping Group.

Deleting Mapping Rules

📓 Save updates to Mapping Rules and publish when all changes are ready for use.


📚 Related Topics from this Section:

Saving & Publishing Mapping Groups

Mapping Rule Processing Order

Conditional Mapping


Did this answer your question?